Title : The Hound of the Baskervilles
Author:Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Genre: Mystery
Reading Time : 22 Hours

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a British writer best known for his detective fiction featuring the character Sherlock Holmes. Originally a physician, in 1887 he published A Study in Scarlet, the first of four novels and more than fifty short stories about Holmes and Dr. Watson. The Sherlock Holmes stories are generally considered milestones in the field of crime fiction.

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the third of the four crime novels featuring the detective Sherlock Holmes. Originally serialized in The Strand Magazine from August 1901 to April 1902, it is set largely on Dartmoor in Devon in England's West Country and tells the story of an attempted murder inspired by the legend of a fearsome, diabolical hound of supernatural origin. Sherlock Holmes and his companion Dr. Watson investigate the case.

* Note : If it is already downloaded please check Kindle Application

Title : Animal Farm
Author:George Orwell
Genre: Fable
Reading Time : 16 Hours

Animal Farm

George Orwell, was an English novelist and essayist, journalist and critic, whose work is characterized by lucid prose, awareness of social injustice, opposition to totalitarianism, and outspoken support of democratic socialism. In addition to Animal Farm, he has written books like Nineteen Eighty-Four, Coming up for air, Homage to Catalonia and other books.

Animal Farm is an allegorical novel by George Orwell. The fable reflects events leading up to the Russian Revolution of 1917 and then on into the Stalinist era of the Soviet Union. Orwell believed that the Soviet Union had become a brutal dictatorship, built upon a cult of personality and enforced by a reign of terror.

Orwell wrote the book between November 1943 and February 1944, when the UK was in its wartime alliance with the Soviet Union against Nazi Germany and the British people and intelligentsia held Stalin in high esteem, a phenomenon Orwell hated.

* Note : If it is already downloaded please check Kindle Application

Title : The Gift of the Magi and other stories
Author: O. Henry
Genre: Short Stories
Reading Time : 19 Hours

The Gift of the Magi and other stories

O. Henry is the pen name of William Sidney Porter, the American writer who worked on a Texas ranch, then as a bank teller in Austin, then as a reporter for the Houston "Post." Adversity struck, however, when he was indicted for embezzlement of bank funds. Porter was tried, convicted and imprisoned for the crime. In prison he began writing stories of Central America and the American Southwest that soon became popular with magazine readers. After his release Porter moved to New York City, where he continued writing stories under the pen name O.Henry.

The work of O. Henry has delighted readers with its humor, irony and colorful, real-life settings. This is a collection of sixteen of his best stories. It includes classics of the genre such as "The Gift of the Magi," "The Last Leaf," "The Ransom of Red Chief," "The Voice of the City" and "The Cop and the Anthem".

* Note : If it is already downloaded please check Kindle Application